Footnotes : the Black artists who rewrote the rules of the Great White Way
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Naperville, Ilinois : Sourcebooks, 2021.
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Bordeaux - Adult Non-Fiction792.08996 G142fOn Shelf
Edgehill - Adult Non-Fiction792.08996 G142fOn Shelf
Looby - Adult Non-Fiction792.08996 G142fOn Shelf
Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction792.08996 G142fOn Shelf
North - Adult Non-Fiction792.08996 G142fOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Published
Naperville, Ilinois : Sourcebooks, 2021.
Format
Book
Physical Desc
435 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Language
English

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Description
"For readers of Hidden Figures and Something Wonderful, Footnotes is the story of New York in the roaring twenties and the first Broadway show with an all-Black cast and creative team to achieve success--and its impact on our popular culture. Amidst a culture actively whitewashing, controlling, or trying to prevent their stories from being told, these artists changed the course of American entertainment. This groundbreaking group of performers and the creators (including composer Eubie Blake and lyricist Noble Sissle) sowed the seeds of the Harlem jazz scene and paved the way for people of color on stage and screen, ultimately leading to productions such as West Side Story, Black Panther, and of course, Hamilton"--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Gaines, C. (2021). Footnotes: the Black artists who rewrote the rules of the Great White Way . Sourcebooks.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Gaines, Caseen, 1986-. 2021. Footnotes: The Black Artists Who Rewrote the Rules of the Great White Way. Sourcebooks.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Gaines, Caseen, 1986-. Footnotes: The Black Artists Who Rewrote the Rules of the Great White Way Sourcebooks, 2021.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Gaines, Caseen. Footnotes: The Black Artists Who Rewrote the Rules of the Great White Way Sourcebooks, 2021.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.