The rock eaters : stories
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
[New York] : Penguin Books, [2021].
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
East - Adult FictionFiction PeynadoOn Shelf
Main Library - Adult FictionFiction PeynadoOn Shelf
Richland Park - Adult FictionFiction PeynadoOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Format
Book
Physical Desc
276 pages ; 20 cm
Language
English
ISBN
9780143135623, 0143135627

Notes

Description
"A story collection, in the vein of Carmen Maria Machado, Kelly Link, and Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, spanning worlds and dimensions, using strange and speculative elements to tackle issues ranging from class differences to immigration to first-generation experiences to xenophobia What does it mean to be other? This question murmurs in the heart of each of Brenda Peynado's strange and singular stories. Threaded with magic, transcending time and place, these stories explore what it means to cross borders and break down walls, personally and politically. In one story, suburban families perform oblations to cattlelike angels who live on their roofs, believing that their "thoughts and prayers" will protect them from the world's violence. In another, inhabitants of an unnamed dictatorship slowly lose their own agency as pieces of their bodies go missing and, with them, the essential rights that those appendages serve. "The Great Escape" tells of an old woman who hides away in her apartment, reliving the past among beautiful objects she's hoarded, refusing all visitors, until she disappears completely. In the title story, children begin to levitate, flying away from their parents and their home country, leading them to eat rocks in order to stay grounded. With elements of science fiction and fantasy, fabulism and magical realism, Brenda Peynado uses her stories to reflect our flawed world, and the incredible, terrifying, and marvelous nature of humanity"--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Peynado, B. (2021). The rock eaters: stories . Penguin Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Peynado, Brenda, 1985-. 2021. The Rock Eaters: Stories. [New York]: Penguin Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Peynado, Brenda, 1985-. The Rock Eaters: Stories [New York]: Penguin Books, 2021.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Peynado, Brenda. The Rock Eaters: Stories Penguin Books, 2021.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.