In West Mills
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Bloomsbury Publishing, 2019.
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Bordeaux - Adult FictionFiction WinslowOn Shelf
Edgehill - Adult FictionFiction WinslowOn Shelf
Edmondson Pike - Adult FictionFiction WinslowOn Shelf
Green Hills - Adult FictionFiction WinslowOn Shelf
Hadley Park - Adult FictionFiction WinslowOn Shelf
Show All Copies

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Format
Book
Physical Desc
261 pages ; 22 cm
Language
English
ISBN
9781635573404, 1635573408

Notes

Description
For readers of The Twelve Tribes of Hattie and The Turner House , an intimately told story about a woman living by her own rules and the rural community that struggles to understand her. Azalea "Knot" Centre is determined to live life as she pleases. Let the people of West Mills say what they will; the neighbors' gossip won't keep Knot from what she loves best: cheap moonshine, nineteenth-century literature, and the company of men. And yet, Knot is starting to learn that her freedom comes at a high price. Alone in her one-room shack, ostracized from her relatives and cut off from her hometown, Knot turns to her neighbor, Otis Lee Loving, in search of some semblance of familyand home. Otis Lee is eager to help. A lifelong fixer, Otis Lee is determined to steer his friends and family away from decisions that will cause them heartache and ridicule. After his failed attempt as a teenager to help his older sister, Otis Lee discovers a possible path to redemption in the chaos Knot brings to his doorstep. But while he's busy trying to fix Knot's life, Otis Lee finds himself powerless to repair the many troubles within his own family, as the long-buried secrets of his troubled past begin to come to light. Set in an African American community in rural North Carolina from 1941 to 1987, In West Mills is a magnificent, big-hearted small-town story about family, friendship, storytelling, and the redemptive power of love.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Winslow, D. C. (2019). In West Mills . Bloomsbury Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Winslow, De'Shawn Charles. 2019. In West Mills. New York: Bloomsbury Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Winslow, De'Shawn Charles. In West Mills New York: Bloomsbury Publishing, 2019.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Winslow, De'Shawn Charles. In West Mills Bloomsbury Publishing, 2019.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.